Sharks and Bulls have unveiled their Champions Cup travelling squads.

Sharks head coach Neil Powell has picked a 28-man touring squad that will travel to London tonight for Saturday’s Champions Cup fixture against Harlequins at The Stoop.

Early in December, the two teams clashed at Hollywoodbets Kings Park for the opening round of the Heineken Cup and theSharks’ first taste of Heineken Cup rugby. Durban emerged victorious, 39-31.

The Sharks enter this weekend’s matchup on the heels of a 32-3 victory over Bordeaux, their third in the tournament, which has propelled them to second place in Pool A, while the Harlequins are seventh with a single victory to date, defeating Racing 92 14-10 in round two, but falling to the same French side 30-29 over the previous weekend.

Powell has been forced to leave Bongi Mbonambi and Boeta Chamberlain on the bench, as both exited the pitch with injuries against Bordeaux, but the rest of the dominant side remains. Curwin Bosch, who was a late withdrawal from that game, has been deemed healthy and will play for the visitors.

Thaakir Abrahams, Grant Williams, Fez Mbatha, Hanru Jacobs, and Reniel Hugh are also in the travel group.

Sharks Traveling Group

Aphelele Fassi Carlu Sadie
Ben Tapuai
Dan Jooste
David Wright
Eben Etzebeth Curwin Bosch
Fez Mbatha Grant Williams Gerbrandt Grobler
Jaden Hendrikse
Hanru Jacobs
Lionel Cronje Andrews Hyron Lukhanyo Am Kerron van Vuuren Makazole Mapimpi Ntuthuko Mchunu
Marnus Potgieter Ox Nche
Rohan Janse van Rensburg However, Phepsi Buthelezi
Thaakir Abrahams
Reniel Hugo \sSikhumbuzo Notshe
Siya Kolisi
Thomas du Toit
Vincent Tshituka is a member of the
Eddie Jones has already set his sights on the Springboks.

In the meantime, the Bulls have picked a 31-man European touring squad that will face Lyon in the Champions Cup and Scarlets in the 2022/23 Vodacom United Rugby Championship.

On Tuesday, January 17, 2023, the team departs OR Tambo International Airport for their Champions Cup fourth-round match against Lyon at the Matmut Stadium de Gerland in France. The Pretoria squad will then head to the United Kingdom to begin preparations for the thirteenth edition of the URC.

The Bulls are currently ranked third in the United Rugby Championship standings, behind the Stormers and Leinster. They are also attempting to secure a berth in the United Rugby Cup round of 16 and the United Rugby Championship playoffs.

BULLS TRAVELLING SQUAD: 1. Run Nortje (c), 2. Simphiwe Matanzima, Third, Bismarck Du Plessis 4. Francois Klopper, 5. Run Vermaak, 6. Janko Swanepoel, 7. Marco Van Staden, 8. Cyle Brink, 9. Embrose Papier, 10. Johan Goosen, 11. David Kriel, 12. Gerhard Steenekamp, 13. Johan Grobbelaar, Moray Smith is 16. Reinhardt Ludwig, Wandisile Simelane, 17, and Dylan Smith, 18, are ranked next. 19. Stravino Jacobs, 20. Nizaam Carr, 21. Elrigh Louw, 22. Chris Smith, 23. Stravino Jacobs 24. Jan Hendrik Wessels, 25. Kurt-Lee Arendse, 26. Harold Vorster, 27. Lionel Mapoe, 28. Canan Moodie, 29. Bernard Van Der Linde, 30. Morne Steyn, 31. Coral Hendricks

Bulls HEINEKEN CUP MATCHES: Saturday, December 10, 2022: Bulls 42, Lyon 36

Saturday, December 17, 2022: Exeter Chiefs 44, Buffalo Bulls 14

Saturday, January 14, 2023: Bulls 39, Chiefs 28.

Friday, January 20, 2023: Lyon versus the Bulls